One of a Kind

It was a cold October night,

The trees outside did sway;

Lightning lent a little light,

Keeping dark at bay.

Hear the booming thunder go;

See the people shiver so;

As children nearly blow away.

 

While eating tuna from a tin,

I watch the raindrops fall.

The willow trees creak and spin,

Growing, stretching tall.

Father Time is pausing here;

Drivers struggle hard to steer;

Cold seeps deep into my skin.

 

I take a walk just down the way,

To rest my weary mind.

I think of better, brighter days,

When I would go and find

A shiny, fancy thing or two

Going right along with you

You were the best one of a kind

What did you think?

