Autumn

Autumn came on a breath of wind,

Calling me here like an old friend.

The leaves turned yellow, green, and red,

A beautiful, colorful blend.

 

The air very soon got colder,

And my spirit grew much bolder.

Sweet sugar-plums danced in my head.

And I soon felt much, much older.

 

We piled leaves from the meadow

And didn’t let our parents know.

Your eyes gleamed with such pure delight

That I could not make myself go.

 

From then on when sweet Autumn came,

I thought of our old childish games.

Since Autumn you’ve not left my sight;

For my stolen heart you’ll take the blame.

What did you think?

