Stepping Stone

I’m a young writer. I’ve made mistakes and I’m sure I’ll make more. When I look back on some of my older work, I wince and blush, muttering about how stupid it was. But other people don’t see it that way. Sure, it was the scribbles of a seven-year-old girl who really liked Nancy Drew, but it was also a stepping stone.

Please don’t be discouraged, no matter what your ambition or hobby. Don’t ridicule yourself, don’t poke at the chinks in your own armor. We can be our greatest enemy. Me, myself, and I hate me sometimes. Don’t let that blind you.

Hone your craft. Keep learning. Listen to your peers, your parents, your grandparents. You’d be surprised at all the nuggets of wisdom they have to offer. ;)

What did you think?

