My 2014

2014 is here!!! For some of us, that’s a great thing, and for others…..they’re still stuck in a rut, so a new year really isn’t helping them feel better about themselves. I’m very happy to see a new year before us, a chance to begin anew and learn new things (and write!). I’m not one of those people who’s stuck in the past, but I also don’t think that good things can only be in the future. I accept the bad things, and celebrate the good, and I’ll continue to do that with whatever comes at me in 2014.

I usually don’t make New Year’s Resolutions, but I do have a goal to read 15 books this year, spanning all different genres. Here is my list below. (If you have any other suggestions, or if one of these is truly horrible, please comment!!)

1. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

A friend lent this book to me months ago, but I found it a bit hard to get into. But I saw the new movie and loved it, and I think the storyline is superb, so I’m determined to read it!

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I had seen this book in a Half Priced Books store one day, and thought it looked pretty good. But I, in all my cheapness, walked away that day without the book in hand. And now I’m really regretting it.

3. The One by Kiera Cass

This book doesn’t come out until May, but I loved the other two books in the series, and I can’t wait to read this one, too! I really think they should make this series into films.

4. In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters

This seems like a creepier sort of novel, which is something I don’t usually read, but I really wanted to branch out this year. So we’ll see if I like it!

5. For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

I’ve fallen in love with many Dystopian novels, and I’m always looking for more. Who knows? This could be one of the best I’ve ever read.

6. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

I know, I know…..I’m really late to the party, what with the movie coming out and all. I first heard about it from my best friend, and she told me I would love it. I’m really excited to see if she’s right!

7. Dracula by Bram Stoker

This is one of the most classic horror books out there. I don’t usually read horror (try never), but I put it on my Nook a long time ago. Unfortunately, I never got around to reading it–but that must change this year!

8. The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle

Although I don’t usually read much romance (I prefer fantasy, quite frankly), I thought I would give this one a try. It doesn’t seem too much like an in-your-face kind of romance, but more of of a subtle and slowly growing love, which is the kind I like.

9. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

From the moment I read what this book was about, I was determined to put it on the list. Something as deliciously romantic and mysterious as this should not be passed up!

10. Avalon by Mindee Arnett

I realized that I didn’t have any science fiction on my list yet, but I stumbled up this book and was instantly intrigued. Unfortunately, it doesn’t come out until the 21st.

11. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

This romantic adventure book caught my eyes immediately, but now I’m stuck waiting on another potentially amazing book to come out!

12. Deception by C.J. Redwine

I read the first book, Defiance, in early 2013, and absolutely fell in love with it. It is one of my favorite books EVER. I can’t wait to see if this sequel is equally spell-binding!

13. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

I was looking for something chilling, something creepy. I think this book will provide that and more!

14. Pride and Prejudice

Another beautiful classic that I have yet to read. The 2005 movie with Kiera Knightley is one of my favorites, and I’m ashamed to say I’ve yet to read the book. :(

15. Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London

When someone tells me that a book has vampires in it, I usually think of Twilight and roll my eyes. (no offense to the Twilight fans; it’s just not my thing!) But this book actually has potential.

What are your favorite books? I’m always looking for something good to read!

One thought on “My 2014

What did you think?

