Books I Read in 2013 (And My Totally Epic Opinions About Them)

So, I’m a huge reader (hence the name of my blog), and in 2013 I really stepped up my game. (Because I’m awesome like that.) I look forward to reading more and more this year, but here’s a look back at some of the books I read last year….and exactly what I thought about them. Caution to the reader: I tend to rant. ;)

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Around the time that the Great Gatsby movie came out (starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Toby Maguire), my Mom and her best friend went to see it in the theater. Mom came back that day raving about how beautiful the cinematography was, and how glamorous the costumes were. So when the movie came out later that year, I just had to see it. At first I really wasn’t sure what I thought about it, but after watching it the second time, I was hooked. But then the stars aligned and it was available at my local library! So I went out and got it, and read it rather slowly, breathing in every single word and appreciating it. It was a beautiful, heart-wrenching book. I really loved it.

2. Heist Society by Ally Carter

A good friend of my had suggested this series to me a while ago, but since I’m such a skilled procrastinator, I completely forgot about it. But I saw it online in October and I was like, “Ooh! I remember that!” So I searched for it at the library (which is like a second home to me), and read it rather quickly. I have to admit, it was surprisingly good. It was fast-paced and adventurous, mixing danger with a hint of romance for the perfect storm.

3. Defiance by C.J. Redwine

Once upon a time, in a galaxy not very far away, I was scouring the library book shelves for something new and entertaining, and I stumbled upon this book. Looking at the cover, I thought it was some sort of fantasy book. I was wrong, but that doesn’t really matter, because it was still amazing. I really, really love this book. As a writer, I have really high standards for books, and this surpasses my hopes and dreams. But now I’ve built it up too much for you. Scratch that, reverse it–the book totally sucked!! But you should read it. Seriously.

4. The Selection (#1 in The Selection Series) by Kiera Cass

I know they say not to judge a book by its cover, but the moment I saw the girl on this book I was hooked. She’s in a huge blue ballgown, for goodness sake! But despite the beautiful dress, America Singer’s world was far from fairytale material. It was an easy, captivating read, and I finished it very quickly–even though there were many distractions (things like Lord of the Rings Online) on the weekend that I started reading it.

5. The Sphinx’s Queen by Esther Friesner

When I first read the back of this book, I was like, “What is this historical fiction you speak of!?” Turns out, it’s pretty dang awesome. I love the mixture of romance and adventure and Egyptian mythology (I love myths, BTW). It was a wonderful book!

6. Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen

I had never read any Sarah Dessen books, even though I know her first two books inspired the movie “How to Deal” with Mandy Moore. I don’t usually read the type of books that involve highschool drama and romance, but this book had a surprising amount of depth and humor.

7. Beastly by Alex Flinn

I was quite the latecomer to this book, I know, what with the movie starring Alex Pettyfer and all. And Alex Pettyfer is cute. A friend had suggested it, and one day I stumbled upon the book while skimming through the novels at the library. I read it in a short period of time, and was oddly disappointed. I didn’t really know what to expect, and….it just wasn’t my kind of book, I guess.

8. The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

My best friend had been telling me for the longest time about this book, and how amazing it was, but I have to admit I was doubtful. I had never read a book quite like it before, and I was hesitant to sign up for it. But then the movie came out, and I absolutely loved it. So of course I had to read the book! And, yes. It was just as great. They really didn’t change too much in the movie, too, so that earned Hollywood a few points. But they were in the negative, so it really didn’t do much good. ;)

9. Wither (#1 in the Chemical Garden Series) by Lauren DeStefano

After reading the Hunger Games series in early 2012, I was craving a good Dystopian series to keep me occupied. This first book did the trick! I was so excited to finally have some good books to read, so I got the other two in the series. Book 3, in my opinion, totally sucked. Which made me really mad. I had gotten so pumped about this series, just to be let down on the last leg of it. But, to be fair, I understand how difficult it is to create a satisfying ending for a Dystopian series. When writing the Dystopian book that I’m working on currently, I worry sometimes about digging myself a big hole, and not being able to climb out of it. (See how I use cute analogies? Aren’t I precious?)

10. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

I have to say, of the few novels I’ve read by Sarah Dessen, this is certainly my favorite. This book combined my love of music and romance, which I thought was very cool.

11. Towering by Alex Flinn

SPOILER ALERT! This book was good, but not  great. I thought the whole “drug-enslaved factory worker” thing was…..weird, to say the least. But besides that little hiccup, it was a good book.

12. Dead Beautiful by Yvonne Woon

I actually thought this was a pretty good book, which surprised me.  It started off a little slow, but once it got going I thought it was very mysterious and romantic. And very interesting. I was very impressed. Plus, the main character has a great name. Just sayin’. ;)

What books did you read in 2013?

What did you think?

