Writing Tips

“Nobody ever became a writer by just wanting to be one.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald

As a young writer, I’m always looking for advice and tips on how to improve my writing skills. I have read so many wonderful and inspirational things from famous authors such as Hemingway and Lovecraft, (This link here, http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2013/11/13/hemingway-on-writing-2/?utm_medium=referral&utm_source=pulsenews , is very helpful) and now I think it’s time that I wrote some of my own tips down for you.

Yes, I know: I’m awesome. You’re welcome. I do what I can–it’s not much, but I do what I can. ;)

1. Always be listening and paying attention. And when I say listen, I mean really listen. Don’t just nod your head and say “Yeah” like you care about what they’re saying but actually don’t; rather, let it all soak in. Learn something from what other people are telling you. The world around us is in constant motion, and if we’re not careful we can be swept away in it and lost.

2. If you have the bad habit of creating fourteen different stories at a time (like me) I suggest keeping it to a minimum. Because I’m so prone to doing that, most of my projects end up being neglected and forgotten. Two or three at a time is okay for me though, so if I get a writer’s block on one I can simply go to another temporarily.

3. Read, read, read. I cannot stress this enough. If we are not constantly taking something in, then what will be able to come out? Well, nothing but absolutely crap–I speak from experience. It is from reading good books that we gain our greatest perspective and inspiration. Reading should be a normal part of your life and routine.

4. In hand with Tip #3, I implore you to wait a while after reading before you begin to write. When I was younger, I continually regurgitated mystery books, and I had very few nuggets of originality. I have found that when I finish reading and go straight to writing, my dialog often resembles that of the book I was reading, and thus I must delete all of that day’s work. So wait a while, until your own originality has started to form, and then write!

5. Write down your thoughts. Every writer should have a document or notebook, a safe place where they can pour out their very heart and soul. Every thought, every whimsical idea should be written there. Even if it’s mediocre, or you fear that it might be crap, write it down. Maybe you’ll come back later and decide it was a waste of the page, but maybe it will spark your imagination and from that you’ll create something amazing. Hidden between the lines of your scribbled words could be the foundation for Utopia.

Also, this is my hundredth post on this blog….so yay me! (I’m totally doing a victory dance right now. Just saying.)

What did you think?

