Grave Mercy, Brittany, and My Exciting Opinions

I’ll admit, when I started Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers, I was skeptical. I mean, I had never read a book about female assassins before, so that made me wary, and I was even more concerned by the fact that it was set in Brittany. (In case you’re wondering, I know nothing at all about Brittany.) I looked up ‘Brittany’ on Wikipedia, and was sad to hear that it had become a part of France. After all poor Ismae went through!

The book was incredibly fast-paced, with only a few moments of dull travel. It was full of danger and mystery, laced with hints of romance and desire. Medieval Brittany is quite the place to be! LaFevers does an excellent job of portraying the characters’ emotions and feelings, telling the story through the fresh eyes of seventeen-year-old assassin Ismae. She is a complicated character, as are they all. It makes you wish you could prance around in a fancy silk dress sometime. (As long as the outfit was complete with daggers and a pearl hairnet laced with poison, of course.)

And just so we’re clear, nothing that I’ve said or shall say will give anything away. My lips are sealed.

I am excited to see a slew of books coming out that are both YA and adult-appropriate. If you get the chance, please go out and read this book!!

Aren’t you so glad you read this? Isn’t your life completed by my rambling? If not, I’m sure you’ll find some other way to go on about your life. Even if it will be sorely missing out on my awesomeness.

Stay tuned for a fabulous month of poetry and book reviews. :)

-Renee

One thought on “Grave Mercy, Brittany, and My Exciting Opinions

What did you think?

