This Love of Ours

I can feel

The press of your gaze

As you watch me.

I can sense

The pulse of your heart

As you draw near.

I accept

The hand you hold out

For a quick dance.

I can see

Your muscles ripple

As you twirl me.

I can tell

You want to hold me

And flee this cage.

I endure

The stare of strangers

As they snicker.

I suspect

You are on the brink

Of breaking down,

So I steer

You away from them,

Into the hall.

I enjoy

The slip of your hands,

Deep in my hair.

I savor

The taste of your lips

As you kiss me.

I believe

In this love of ours

More than all else.

And I will

Keep on loving you

For forever.

What did you think?

