Crush

I suck in a breath as you walk by;

Should I draw near to you?

Dare I throw myself off of the edge

And introduce myself?

Panic is all that stands in my way,

And fear of rejection.

Can I make myself be more daring,

Enough to say hello?

What if you and I are meant to be,

And fear prevents our love?

What if I cannot be the brave girl

That I so need to be?

The twinkle in your eyes is a dare,

Calling me to come forth.

Your blithe laughter is a reminder

Of what I’m fighting for.

One step forward and then three steps back;

It’s like I’m scared of you.

But I’m not–I think I am in love;

I just can’t reach for you.

Whenever you spot me, I smile;

You are charming and sweet.

I cannot help the feelings I have;

I am under your spell.

I wish that you would approach me first;

That would be so easy.

But you have no idea that I am

Falling in love with you.

I suck in a breath as you walk by;

You are a fearless dream.

Dare I throw myself off of the edge

And tell you how I feel?

What did you think?

