Stranger’s Eyes

I board the train and take my seat;

I fan my face to dispel the heat.

The world is hot and strange today,

The Winter chill has long been away.

A passenger dares meet my eyes;

And on his lips is a meager, “Hi.”

His face is worn with grief and stress;

He is, like me, a struggling mess.

This life is not what he once thought,

Where loyalty is sold and then bought.

I see a world of punishment,

For him a world of disappointment.

A path of pain and filthy lies–

All this I see in a stranger’s eyes.

What did you think?

