Late-night Intrusion

This is the first time I’ve used a daily-prompt from WordPress, but I thought I’d give it a try. This one seemed too good to pass up. :)

It’s been a long day.

I unlock the door and go straight

To the kitchen,

Where a nice cup of tea–

Well, it was nice this morning–

Waits for me, cold, on the counter.

I sit there in the comfortable silence,

Enjoying the warmth of the heater on my skin.

Suddenly I hear a small laugh

Coming from my living room.

Heart hammering against my chest,

I pull a knife out of the drawer

And tiptoe into the hallway.

I wait, breathless, at the door,

Ready to pounce at any moment.

I hear a man’s voice, talking slowly,

As if to a frightened child.

I peer around the corner and see a couple,

Sitting on my brown leather couch,

Holding each other’s youthful hands,

And sharing a slice of my famous chocolate cake.

I shift in my place and the floorboards creak.

The woman looks up in surprise,

The man gets up and crosses the room.

He smiles a large, toothy smile;

Tom, he says his name is,

“And this is my wife Lily.”

Lily looks at me with big, round eyes

And offers me a hand of introduction.

I shake it, stunned,

And she pulls me down to sit beside her.

Suddenly I feel as if I were the intruder,

As if this weren’t my home at all.

I blink and shake the feeling away.

These people are strangers–

Maybe even burglars!

I mean, what kind of people

Come in at the end of a long day

And start eating other people’s cake?

I tell them to get out, shaking the knife

At them like they were naughty children.

Tom seems almost surprised,

And Lily’s eyes begin to fill with tears.

“But, ma’am, we only wanted to say hello.”

Her voice is soft and trembling.

Suddenly I feel like I am the naughty child,

Being unkind to this poor, gentle couple.

Before I even know what I’m doing,

I’ve given them another slice of cake,

And told them they can stay the night.

I pile blankets on them and pat their hands goodnight.

When I climb into bed,

I don’t know half of the things I did.

Around them I am reckless and yet centered.

I blink and try to fall asleep.

In the morning they are gone,

With a note left on my counter–

The cake is now only crumbs.

Thank you for the hospitality.

We are forever in your debt.

We hope the check helps. 

Love, Hera and Zeus

My eyes widen when I see the check–

Fifteen thousand dollars in my palm.

Hera and Zeus…

I look out the window and almost see her face.

But she winks and disappears,

Like a leaf in the Summer wind.

6 thoughts on “Late-night Intrusion

What did you think?

