Bad-ass YA Fiction

In the last month I’ve made a lot of progress on my reading list for this year. I knocked out the following:

1. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

What can I say about this book? It was good. Really good, fast-paced, frightening. It mixed one of my favorite time-periods with a dark and strange mystery that had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. And when I finally got to the end, I was left dying for the sequel!

2. In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters

Let me just say: creepy. Between the ghosts and the blood and the mystery, I was left breathless. I stayed up long into the night to finish this one, and it was completely worth it.

3. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

This was one of my favorite books so far on my 2014 reading list. It was mysterious, dark, and terribly addicting. The romance was unpredictable and smoldering. Totally awesome.

4. Enthralled: Paranormal Diversions by Melissa Marr (among other great authors)

I’ve just recently discovered Ms. Marr’s work, and I’m greatly impressed. This was just as interesting and…enthralling. I know it’s a bad pun, people. I’m so sorry.

5. Grave Mercy by Robin Lafevers

Just yes. Please go out and read this book. Teenagers, young adults, adults, old people, whatever…please. Set in medieval Brittany, this book about kick-ass assassins will have excitement coursing through your veins. (I think they’re called assassins because ‘ass’ is in their name. As in they like to kick them. Aren’t you glad I came to that profound conclusion? You’re welcome.)

6. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

I went into this book a little bit skeptical, because it was a retelling of a classic fairytale and…well, retellings are hardly ever as good as the original. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the book. I connected with the characters, which is one of the most important thing about storytelling, and was intrigued by the twists in the storyline. Over-all, and excellent read.

7. Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

This sequel to Graver Mercy did not, in any aspect, disappoint. It was just as action-packed and romance-filled as the first book in the series. I absolutely cannot wait for the final book in the trilogy, Mortal Heart, to come out this November!

8. The Giver by Lois Lowry

Ever since it was announced that they were making a movie out of this book, I knew I had to read it. So when I stumbled upon it in the library one day, I decided to go ahead and check it out. I’ll admit that I was skeptical, but it was a truly wonderful book. It was the perfect dystopia/utopia world (however you like to think of it) and the characters were very relatable. I fell in love with Jonas immediately.

They were all fantastic reads, and I would suggest any one of them to you guys. :)

What did you think?

