Away from Home

In March I had read this fantastic book called Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke. It focused on a girl named Violet who rents out her guesthouse to a mysterious, handsome, mischievous boy named River. It was a thrilling read, and had my heart racing from beginning to end. I’m currently reading its sequel, Between the Spark and the Burn. I’m only about 1/3 of the way done, but I wanted to share a bit of it with you. This bit of prose gave me chills, because it’s so true.

“Being away from home was an eerie thing, thick and powerful and overwhelming. It was energizing to see new places and people, your brain on fire, your heart stirred up. But it was also kind ofsad.”

Truth. I feel exactly like that whenever I’m away from home more than a day. It’s just a dull sort of ache in your chest, the urge to run as fast as you can, as far as it takes, in order to get back to the place you know best. To the people you call family. 

I hope you all get to be with your families, and that you have an excellent Labor Day weekend :)

What did you think?

