Elysium

I feel a shudder;

The breeze moves through the oak trees,

And at once I’m lost.

There is something sweet

About the way the creek runs

As I pursue it.

I start to smile;

I take up my skirts and step

Into the cold stream.

I feel so free here;

It’s as if the world is gone,

And I am alone.

A dim memory

Lurks on the very surface

Of my foggy mind.

Then I can see him–

He was there when I fell down,

And when I perished.

His eyes were like gold;

He held my hand when I passed,

Saw me to the boat.

As I crossed the deep,

He tried to follow me here,

But he could not come.

It is a dark realm–

The living have no place here;

And so I will wait.

2 thoughts on “Elysium

What did you think?

