How I Have Loved You

A tale of love and madness.

The rain came, and it came for long,

But all I heard was your sweet song–

And though to them it might seem wrong,

My dear, how I have loved you. 

Amongst the bitter Winter chill,

You perched up on my window sill;

Your voice was soft, and kind, and shrill;

My dear, how I have loved you.

Merry we roamed the avenues,

In tattered coats and melted shoes.

You were the thing I could not lose;

My dear, how I have loved you.

Your eyes were kind and crinkled so

I could not help but want to know

The boy with hands as cold as snow;

My dear, how I have loved you.

You helped me feel like I belonged,

Amidst the churning, busy throng

Of people in their rights and wrongs;

My dear, how I have loved you.

We were like angels, you and I,

Though fallen from the heavens high.

The thought of you, it makes me sigh;

My dear, how I have loved you.

You moved me out among the trees,

And though you could do what you pleased,

You chose to spend your time with me;

My dear, how I have loved you.

The things you told me, all were true,

And though I never doubted you,

I know they thought I’d gone coo-coo;

My dear, how I have loved you.

I think back to the day we met,

The world all soft and dark and wet,

Your face so kind and brilliant;

My dear, how I have loved you.

I’ve loved you all these many years,

And you have wiped away my tears,

And things have been quite peaceful here;

My dear, how I have loved you.

Though time has passed and things have changed,

Our life assembled, rearranged,

And though I must be quite deranged;

My dear, how I have loved you.

What did you think?

