Progress: When Reading Three Hundred Books at Once…

I’ll be honest with you: I read a lot. Large books, little books, books with strange fonts and the cool ones that have textured paper. Those are my favorite. Also, I tend to start reading many books a once. This is a problem, because I have trouble focusing. The characters are pulling me back and forth, crying out for my attention, and so I read all three hundred books at the same time, and very slowly. Insert blushing emoji.

Here are some more of the books that I have read this year, and my opinion of them :)

1. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender
Beautiful Sorrows
This is a book about a girl named Ava Lavender who is born with wings, and how she came to be born with such an odd gift, and the story of her tragic family. It is one of my all-time favorite books. Ever. It was lyrical, and magical, and yet remained perfectly relatable. The character portrayal was raw, and the story was poignant. Ava was a beautiful person, though her burdens heavy. It was a powerful ballad that reached a high crescendo towards the end that left my heart racing. A phenomenal read. Please. You guys have to read this book!! (Also: I had the pleasure of meeting Ms. Walton at a recent signing and she was so sweet!)

2. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

All the Boys

First of all, let me start by saying how much I love Jenny Han. She is sweet, funny, and absolutely the Queen of Twitter. Secondly, this book was amazing. I read it in one day. I related to the characters, and especially the sisterly dynamic that went into it. Also, the romance! <3

3. Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
One Day
A book about two best friends, both ex-ballerinas, who are closer than sisters. One of them gets cancer, and their lives are forever changed. So if you want to bawl your eyes out, get mascara all over the book, and seriously concern your family and friends…this is the perfect book for you! But despite, you know, all the tears that were shed, it was a very touching book.

4. The Butterfly Clues by Kate Ellison
Clues
Ever since I was six years old and got started on the Nancy Drew series, I have absolutely adored mysteries. The idea of looking beyond the obvious and searching for the truth has always been quite fascinating to me. This book did not disappoint. The main character, Lo, was amazing. It kept my heart racing, aching to read ahead and learn what happened. The ending was satisfying, and the romance was sweet. Overall, a very compelling read.

5. Divergent by Veronia Roth
Divergent
I know what you’re thinking. And yes, I’m a little late hopping on the bandwagon. But my best friend kept telling me how amazing it was, and I had to read it for myself. Let me just tell you that yes–it did meet my already-high expectations. It was an adventure from beginning to end.

6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
The Book Thief
Most amazing, compelling, emotional book I have ever read. I give it a million stars,  a thousand thumbs up, and two very bright, tear-filled eyes. The way Zusak brings the story to life…it’s breathtaking. His prose gave me goosebumps. It is one of my favorite books EVER.

7. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Stars
Again: I’m a bit late to the party. Like most on the list, it was a tear-jerker. He told a story about cancer without telling a story just about cancer, and portrayed the character’s illnesses without having it fall into the “book about sick kids” category. Also: the movie was perfect. They did so well adapting it, and really did it justice. If you’re going to read and/or see this movie, bring tissues. You are going to need them.

8. The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine
Promise
I don’t usually read books where romance is the main plot, but when I saw the cover for this book, I just couldn’t resist. I mean, how adorable can a cover be! Besides that, the book was sweet. A quick, breezy read that was heartfelt without being sappy. The main character, Wren, is totally my home-girl. Can’t wait to read the new book Ms. Constantine is writing!

9. Between the Spark and the Burn by April Genevieve Tucholke
Burn
The second in a thrilling YA duo, this book had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Dark, stormy nights; wind-swept beaches on the coast, and the ever-ominous, knife-wielding Brody. That dude seriously creeps me out. The first book in the duo was amazing, and this sequel did not disappoint. I couldn’t put it down. (As a side note: Ms. Tucholke follows one of my boards on Pinterest. When I got the notification, I couldn’t help but squeal. So exciting!)

10. Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz
Dark House
Let me just say, I don’t really read horror. I mean, it creeps me out and then I can’t sleep and THAT IS JUST BAD. So I usually steer clear of the genre. But I was scrolling through the new Barnes and Noble books on their website (I have a lot of free time), and just couldn’t resist it. The carousel made me curious. The sillhouette only heightened that curiosity. So I put a hold on it at the local library, and read it about a week before Halloween. (Perfect timing.) It was so good, so spine-chilling, that I read it in one day. Then I found out there was going to be a sequel, and I started to freak out even more, because the story wasn’t over yet!

What did you think?

