Top 5 Books of 2014

2015 is almost upon us, so I thought I’d compile a list of my favorite novels that debuted this year :)

1. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

Strange and Beautiful
I’ve probably mentioned this book in casual conversation about a million times, and it remains one of my favorite books of all time. It is lyrical and poignant and heartbreaking. Ava Lavender is a young girl who was born with wings, in a family with a tragic past spanning generations. This is about her, but this is also about her family, and the loves that they have lost. But more than that, it exposes what it is to love and why exactly we do it, throughout all the darkness and pain. Also, can we talk about this cover? GORGEOUS.

2. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire

So in October, I was going to see Sarah at a book festival. I had already read the other two amazing books in the series, “Throne of Glass” and “Crown of Midnight”, so I was desperate to read the latest addition. However, Amazon was taking a slow-ass time on delivering it to me, and the festival was coming up so soon. It was the ultimate race-against-the-clock. The book arrived not two days before the festival, and I was able to read the book. I stayed up WAY too late in order to finish it in time. The point is: I could rant about this book all day long. It was amazing, and thrilling, and the characters are inspirational on a whole new level. I mean, Celaena Sardothien seriously knows how to kick some ass, and look good while doing it. <3

3. Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers
Mortal Heart

I was so excited to read this book, and, as the final in an epic trilogy about assassin nuns, it did not disappoint. It had everything you could want: rich history, a beautiful landscape, rambunctious characters, romance, snark, and sass! I’ll admit this story took turns I didn’t not expect, but in the best way. Now I can’t help but want to visit some of the old chapels in Brittany :)

4. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes

There are few books that can accurately capture the feeling of pure rage, and this one, at a certain point in the story, does it perfectly. I was becoming furious right along with the main character, Meira, sitting there in the car as we drove home from our Christmas festivities. Meira was so conflicted, and I felt every bit of it within me. It was the perfect kind of fantasy novel. Can’t wait for the sequel, Ice Like Fire, which comes out next year!!

5. My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories Edited by Stephanie Perkins
Christmas

This delightful holiday collection has twelve stories, twelve authors, and just over-all holiday cheer. It’s not just about Christmas, as some of them are, but there’s a little bit of everything. Christmas, Krampus, Hanukkah, country living, celebrities on the run, Winter Solstice, Santa Clause’s daughter, elves, chefs with ridiculously tall hats, and so much more! There were so many heartfelt adventures stored up in one single book, I just adored it. My ultimate goal would be for all twelve authors to sign my copy of the book. Maybe that will be my New Year’s Resolution? ;)

What about you guys? What books have been your favorites this year?

What did you think?

