My Brothers and I

My Brothers and I

Went a-walking at dawn,

Going forward, and on

To see what upward lie.

My Brothers and I

Took our finest of blades,

Went jolly through the glades

With expressions most wry.

My Brothers and I

Were attacked by some rain,

And until the sun came,

Made our camp with a sigh.

My Brothers and I

Made many a fine joke,

And had us a long smoke,

Till our jackets were dry

My Brothers and I

Nearly fell of the edge

Of a great mountain ledge–

Could not flap, could not fly.

My Brothers and I

Found our home quite unchanged,

Though a battle soon raged

With those who would not comply.

My Brothers and I

Steady, stood side-by-side,

With our hearts drained of pride

On the mountain to die.

What did you think?

