Before I Break

And now I count the breaths I’ll take

Before I break, before I break.

Dear Lord, how I have made mistakes.

How many more then shall I make?

This is a dream—I cannot wake.

I’ve seen the darkness of your lake.

Release my throat, for Heaven’s sake

And let me wake, O let me wake.

I’ve tried, but I just cannot fake

The way my stomach burns and aches,

The way my body caves and shakes.

But I will not break, I will not break.

O curse that old confounded snake

Who promised love but could not take

The loving I preferred to make,

And left me here with my mistakes.

The water here is clear, opaque

And I have yet more pills to take.

Just swear to me that I will wake

Before I break, before I break.

What did you think?

