Dark Place.

I’ve locked myself in a very dark place…

I’ve locked myself in a very dark place;

They gave me a key, but I’ve chosen to stay.

I cannot forget the look on your face–

It’s followed me here. I cannot get away.

The cold has left both my lips turning blue;

My eyes have gone puffy from tears that I’ve shed.

My heart grows heavier with thoughts of you;

I don’t know when I started to lose my head.

When did I curse what I’d once held so dear?

When did I start spiraling out of control?

Didn’t I hear what I needed to hear?

Why couldn’t I have just let them cleanse my soul?

There’s nothing to do in the dark but think,

And play your sins over again in your head.

Darkness rose up, and I let myself sink;

I am a snake. Perhaps this foul skin will shed.

I wish to disappear without a trace;

You think you can call it, but this is no bluff.

I’ve locked myself in a very dark place,

But to me, it could never be dark enough.

What did you think?

